At last! I got my Mojo back!

What can I say? It’s been too long since I wrote anything on this blog, but I have moved house, and been very busy settling into my new home. I lost my writing mojo for quite some time because real life took over and all my imaginary friends abandoned me. Fortunately, one of my future characters stayed with me throughout the turmoil of dealing with solicitors, removals companies and utility services. She hovered in the shadows of my mind, whispering her story and waiting for the right time to emerge fully into the sunlight. I feel she blossomed with the daffodils and when I began to listen to her, she had a very interesting story to tell me.
So I’m back to the flower theme for my next book, and it will be another war story romance, but with a twist of espionage. I immersed myself in history once again, concentrating on the spy schools of the second world war to ensure I got the details correct for my heroine’s adventures.
I conjured more characters from thin air to keep her company, and fleshed them out with personalities, friends and family. Then I began to write the first chapter, but another, very strong lead character started to interrupt the flow of words. She is the grandmother of my heroine and she dominated the whole thread of my thinking processes. Her influence was so great that I could not ignore her. She told me that my new book has a back story that needs to be told first- her story.
I spent the next month going further back in history and researching life in France to make the backgrounds more authentic for my new dominant character to act out her story. She took me to places I’d never considered before, and when she told me the full account of her life, my fingers began to itch. I couldn’t keep these words inside a minute longer.
The words are flowing rapidly as I involve myself in her story and I can see another woman emerging with yet another tale of romance, love and loss. I’m keeping this new character quiet for now, but I can see that she will be my next heroine and the original girl, who has been with me all along, will have to get to the back of the queue.
What started as a stand alone love story set in the second world war, is now becoming a family saga spanning three generations. I hope to turn this into a two or perhaps three part series, so that takes care of the rest of 2015 for me!

Leave a Reply

